Featured Posts

Watch Out Facebook, Here Comes Google There's a buzz in town. And facebook may not like it. Yep, facebook could have some competition in the social media arena. Being one of the top social media hit, facebook, has been the favorite. Here in...

Readmore

Competition: A Double Edged Blade They say competition occurs naturally between organisms in the same environment. Where survival is only for the fittest or something like that. Where individuals aim to get what they deem or think they...

Readmore

TI Getting Into The Tablet Wagon With all the fuzz and massive battle around the tablet arena, from HP, Dell and to other major tech companies, all got into the tablet wagon. Now, another has joined the party - Texas Instruments (TI). Yep,...

Readmore

TrueCrypt: Even FBI Can't Crack It! I was first introduced to the free encryption tool, TrueCrypt, when I searched for a tool to encrypt my USB flash drive that contains some "sensitive" stuff that I don't want someone else eyes to pry on....

Readmore

Updated: LastPass Indeed The Last Password You'll Ever... I have been looking for a password manager that I can use that is very secure and easy to use. I tried KeePass but every time I use it, I need to go to the UI and get the password then go to the browser...

Readmore

  • Prev
  • Next

Samsung Omnia Promo: Marketing or Just Plain Phishing?

Posted on : 08-10-2009 | By : wyrlo | In : Technology

0

omniaBiomekanika gave me this samsung website where it showcases their new smart phone – Samsung Omnia. As what the site says, you can win the phone by just playing the game. The game is like the “Typing Maniac” app from facebook where you type the words as it falls down the screen. To qualify for the promo, you will need to register first. Provide your e-mail address and other information.

Now, here’s what the site got my “doubt-radar” got a blimp. The promo, I think,  is a scam wherein they could use the information when you registered. Here are some of the things that I noticed:

  1. You can not beat the highest score. On the right side of the website shows a list of “top 15″. They are what you call the fastest typer in the world. As you can see at the screenshot above, they achieved 400,000+ points! Amazing isn’t it?! The reason? Read the next item.
  2. The speed of the words falling down is not humanly possible. Even if you’re still in level 3-5, the speed of the words falling is fast. In these levels you’re still at around 60-80,000 points. Why not try level 10, you say?! Well, imagine watching the words falling just like in matrix movie.
  3. There is no validation when you register. If this promo is real, there should be some sort of validation of any kind when you register. I tried to register bogus information and still the site accepts it.
  4. There is no link that goes to Samsung’s website. I wonder why there is no any link in this site that will connect to the Samsung main website or to the omnia phone web page? If they are committed to this, shouldn’t they put some sort of links to Samsung’s main website?
  5. Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) NCR Permit does not belong to Samsung. Notice the DTI permit number (2705) located on the lower right of the page? Well, I checked the permit number in DTI and guess what? IT IS ALREADY EXPIRED AND DOES NOT BELONG TO SAMSUNG. It belongs to a certain TIME LIFE INTERNATIONAL (PHILS.), INC and the promo name?! TIME HSBC SOLO MAIL!

dtipermit

Is this there marketing strategy or just plain phishing?

UPDATE:

I tried to search who owns the Samsungomnia.com.ph domain through whois search. The domain is owned by Havoc Digital, Inc. The same company who created Manny Villar’s Akala Mo Website.

Mark your calendars! Transform…

Posted on : 04-10-2009 | By : wyrlo | In : Tweets

0

Mark your calendars! Transformers 3 will be release July 1, 2011! http://bit.ly/ItXFF